Professor Yuri Kivshar awarded AOS W.H. (Beattie) Steel Medal 2017


The Australian Optical Society (AOS) has awarded CUDOS Deputy Director Professor Yuri Kivshar the 2017 W.H. (Beattie) Steel Medal in recognition of his leadership and significant contributions to the field of optics, particularly in nonlinear photonics and metamaterials.

Yuri Kivshar

Professor Yuri Kivshar

The Medal is the most prestigious award of the Australian Optical Society and reflects a strong and sustained record of authority, enterprise and innovation in the field of optics in Australia and New Zealand.

Professor Kivshar is a world leader in nonlinear physics, nonlinear photonics, and metamaterials and Australia’s Most Cited Scientist in Physics. The key contributions of Professor Kivshar to nonlinear optics and photonics include pioneering results on optical solitons and studies of novel nonlinear effects in metamaterials, summarized in 5 books. He is considered to be the founder of the new field of nonlinear metamaterials.

Professor Kivshar established the Nonlinear Physics Centre at the Australian National University with the main research in optics, where he trained a dozen of young researchers, including three Australian Institute of Physics Bragg medalists. He is the Deputy Director of CUDOS and links strong theoretical capabilities of the Centre with capabilities of experimental groups by assembling and leading world class physicists working on leading edge topics of Metamaterials.

Professor Yuri Kivshar is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, OSA, APS, and IOP. He received many awards including International Pnevmatikos Prize in Nonlinear Science (Greece), Pawsey and Lyle Medal (Australia), The State Prize in Science (Ukraine), and Harrie Massey Medal of the Institute of Physics (UK).