Martijn de Sterke acknowledged for outstanding contributions to optics and photonics education


Professor Martijn de Sterke, CUDOS Chief Investigator from the University of Sydney has been awarded the prestigious Esther Hoffman Beller Medal by the Optical Society (OSA).

Martijn de Sterke

Professor Martijn de Sterke

The Esther Hoffman Beller Medal recognises outstanding contributions to optical science and engineering education and is awarded annually. This year, OSA recognises Professor Martijn de Sterke for his far-reaching and diverse contributions to optics and photonics education through exceptional dedication to classroom teaching, visits to OSA student chapters, outstanding PhD student advising and a sustained commitment to outreach activities.

Martijn de Sterke is a theoretical physicist, whose approach to his research is characterized by actively seeking collaborations with experimentalists. As a Chief Investigator of CUDOS, he has supervised over 40 PhD, Masters and Honours students.

The award ceremony will be held later this year. Eric Mazur, 2017 President of The Optical Society said recipients of OSA medals “are paving the way to new discoveries and technologies, and a greater level of understanding of the optical sciences. OSA is incredibly pleased to acknowledge their dedication and celebrates their success.”